Athletics Otago - Our People

Our People 


Athletics Otago is run by an elected Board of Directors. The Board meet on the last Wednesday of every 2nd month. The Board comprises of up to eight members, Six are elected members and two additional members may be co-opted if required by the Board following the AGM. The President of Athletics Otago may attend Board meetings as ex-officio. The Board elects a Chairperson from its own members.

At each AGM two positions become vacant. Affiliated clubs to Otago may propose a person to fill these positions.

Following Athletics Otago's May 2023 AGM, the current board  are as follows.

Simon Rhodes (Chair)

Katherine Irving (Deputy Chair)

Richard Kinley

Kathryn Radford

Kevin Shaw

Jamie Adamson

Next Meeting Tue 12 Dec 7:30pm

Athletics Otago Staff

Athletics Otago is always looking at new ways to deliver our sport.

We currently employ one full time employee and contract in other personnell as needed.

Sue Brydges (Operations & Development)

Mon to Fri - Full Time

Based in North Otago (Wed in Dunedin)


P: 021 852 355

Mark Peters (Event Management)

Mon to Sat Flexi Hours - Part Time


Contracted as Required

School Equipment Bookings

Coaching PD to Clubs & Schools

Athletics Otago Committees

Athletics Otago provides year round opportunites for people to participate in a wide variety of events. This is only possible due to the committment of our volunteers who sit on committees and meet monthly inseason. We thankyou for your passion and dedication to our sport.

President - Robert Homan (Civil Service)


Howden Finnie (Hill City)

Malcolm Giles (Caversham)

Robert Homan (Civil Service)

Russell Lund (Ariki)

Marc Boulle (Leith)

David McNeill (Hill City)

Kevin Shaw (AO Board)

Next Meeting 4 Dec 7:30pm


Maragret Knox (Leith)

Richard Fogarty (Hill City)

Robert Homan (Civil Service)

Oliver O'Sullivan (Hill City)

Next Meeting TBC Season Debrief


Brent Halley (Ariki)

​​​​​​​Paul Ferro (Hill City)

Shelley Walker (Taieri)

Peter Hughes (Caversham)

Glen Chisholm (Leith)

Jamie Adamson (AO Board)

Next Meeting Mon 20 Nov 5:30pm 

CHILDREN'S ​​​​​​​

Sian Ellis (Chair)

Paul Ferro (Finance)

John Hollows (Hill City)

Jaime Winklemann (Hill City)

Hayley McHutchon (Taieri)

Paula Cotter (Caversham)

Mandy Enoka (Aspiring)

Evelyn Armstrong (Caversham)

Anna Murray (Cromwell)

Amy Hore (Cromwell)

Clare Toi-Bailey (Alexandra)

Kate Groundwater (Alexandra)

Gillian Wong (Facebook)

Next Meeting Early Feb 2024 (zoom)

Summer Working Group

Working Group established to combine T&F & Childrens Interclub

Next Meeting TBA prior to xmas

Officials Coordinators

Joan Merrilees

Karen Palmer

Records Committee

Deidre Helm (Records Steward)

Paula Cotter (Caversham)

Megan Gibbons (Taieri)​​​​​​​

Meet as Required

Athletics Otago Squad Directors

Paula Cotter (chair)

Raylene Bates

Joan Merrilees

Kieran Fowler

Dave McNeill

Mike Weddell

Mandy Enoka.

Next Meeting TBA

Awards Committee

Rob Homan (Track & Field)

Deidre Helm (Records)

Marion Harris (Life Member)

Margaret Knox (Winter)

Sian Ellis (Childrens)

Next Meeting TBA