Athletics Otago - Otago Squad

Otago Squad

The Athletics Otago Squads are administered by Directors endorsed by the Athletics Otago Board. Any support/funding is intended to contribute to an athlete’s competition needs with focus on New Zealand Championships. Being a member of any of these squads is not a reward for past performance, but rather is designed to support individuals identified by Athletics Otago as having the ability/potential to deliver consistent performance.​​​​​​

Directors: Paula Cotter (chair), Raylene Bates (past chair), Kieran Fowler, Dave McNeill, Joan Merrilees, Mike Weddell, Mandy Enoka.

2022 Calender of Events

Thursday 11th May 2023

Squad Directors via zoom

New Athlete Seminar - roles & responsibilities

15th June 2023

Tapering - Blair Martin

Wed 26 July 2023

Nutrition for Competition Day

7:00pm Zoom

August 2023



Squad Camp - 15/16th September 2023 - Wanaka

Wanaka Rec Centre

Note: More photos will be added as they come available.

Since 1993 the Skeggs Foundation has been supporting aspiring elite athletes represent Otago and New Zealand while still remaining in the Provience.  Twice a year the Foundation gives grants to young sportspeople to help them achieve their goals and be the pride of Otago and New Zealand.

To be eligible to apply for support athletes must be:

  • Living in Otago, which includes Dunedin City and Waitaki, Clutha, Central Otago and Queenstown Lakes Districts.
  • Available for selection into Otago teams; unless this would conflict with National selection.

Broadly the Foundation supports 'aspiring elite' athletes, which encompasses a range of high performing young people.  The definition of 'young' varies by sport but normally means older teenagers or those in their 20's.  If you want to enquire about your eligibility to apply contact us on 03 474 6419 or

The funding rounds close at 5.00pm on 20 March and 20 September, and late applications will not be considered.

Otago Squad for 2023/2024 Season

Adam Kaloga (100m)​​​​​​​

Alex Brown (Walks)

​​​​​​​Alex Corbett (100m 200m)

Amelio Kaloga (100m)

Anton Schroder (Javelin)

Benjamin Baines (Javelin, Shot Put)

Blake Dalton (100m, 200m)

​​​​​​​Cameron Moffitt (400mH, Decathlon)

Cole Gibbons (Pole Vault, 100mH)

Edmond Ferro (100m, 200m)

Felix McDonald (200m, Long Jump)

Fergus McLeay (100m, 200m, 400m)

​​​​​​​George Hamilton (3000m)

Hadlee Edmunds (100m)

Hamish Moore (100m, 200m)

Jackson Rogers (100m, 200m)

Jake Owen (3000m)

Janus Staufenberg (3000m)

Jedidiah Thompson-Fawcett (800m)

John Gerber (400m)

Josh Chisholm (Shot Put)

Joshua Hou (800m, 1500m, 3000m)

Kahu Geary (100m, High Jump)

Kieran Fowler (Discus)

Liam Prouting-Gardner (400m)

Liam Wilson (Long Jump)

Luke Moffitt​​​​​​​ (Pole Vault, Triple Jump)

Manaia Lesa (100m, 200m)

Mate Poduje (High Jump)

Matt Bolter (800)

Miller McElrea (200m, 400m)

Niko Alvarez Rey- Virag (800m)

Oli Chignell (3000m, 5000m, Cross Country)

Oliver Lodge (800m)

Ryan Young (Triple Jump)

Sebastian Ferro (100m)

Shay Veitch (100m, 200m, Long Jump)

Todd Bates (Hammer)​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Alexa Duff (Javelin, Discus, Shot Put 4kg)

Amaya East (800m, 1500m)

Anna Grimaldi (Long Jump, 100m)

Annabelle Batchelor (100m, 200m

Bernice Cullen (Long Jump, Triple Jump)

Catherine Lund (5000m, 2K Steeple, Cross Country)

​​​​​​​Dyani Shepherd-Oates (Hammer)

Emelia Adamson (High Jump)

​​​​​​​Grace Brydges (800m)

Hannah Prosser (3000m)

​​​​​​​Holly Robinson (Javelin, Shot Put)

Jordan Evans-Tobata (400m)

Jorja Gibbons (100m, 200m, Long Jump)

Georgia McHutchon (400m)

​​​​​​​Keira McNeill (Long Jump, Triple Jump)​​​​​​​

Lisa Lokman (High Jump)

Millie East (100m, 400m)

​​​​​​​Neve Beattie (Triple Jump, Long Jump)

Niamh Townsend (100m)

Ohara Couch (Long Jump)

Rebekah Greene (1500m, 3000m, 5000m, Cross Country)

Sarah Evans (Javelin)

Sarah Jamison (100m, 100mH, 300mH)

​​​​​​​Shanti Kara (Discus, Shot Put, 100m, High Jump)

Shyah Beattie (Discus)

Tila Te Whare (Long Jump)

​​​​​​​Zara Geddes (1500m, 3000m, 2K Steeples, Cross Country)

Zharna Beattie (Discus)​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Alex Walker (100m, 200m, 400m, Shot Put, Discus)

Bella Smith (Shot Put)

Brooke Wilson (Hurdles)

Charlee Farquhar (Shot Put, Discus)

Eddie Weir (200m, 800m, 1500m)

Ila Duncan (1500m)

Isabella Van Aart (100m, 200m)

Lailah Robson (100m)

Lyla Bowering (100m, 200m)​​​​​​​

Phoebe Laker (100m, 200m, 400m)

Riley Horne (100m, 200, 80mH)

Sadye Kawau (100m, 200m)​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​